Skip to content

BAM… Impermanence!

June 18, 2011

Yesterday, I arrived at a job to do an install. I’ve been having one hell of a time with impermanence lately, among other things. I stepped out of the truck to survey the job and see what I needed to get done.

It could be a coincidence, but a strong breeze kicked up. As the breeze, and dust, washed over me, I turned to my right side. There on the face of the house next to me was a giant Tibetan flag. At that moment, I had a smidgeon of clarity. The first word, and feeling that came was impermanence.

It became abundantly clear to me, at that moment, nothing is in our control. Everything, and anything, is subject to impermanence. Everything ebbs and flows. It changes whether we want it to or not, we can do nothing about it, even if we tried our hardest.

I’m sure the struggle with it will continue, but there, in that moment, I came to terms with impermanence. BAM! It is what it is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 5:28 pm

    It feels like ‘things’, including us, are just whirlpools in the stream – real and here in this moment, but…

  2. June 18, 2011 2:53 pm

    I love the clarity of moments like that. They keep me going at times of great clinging. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

