Skip to content

Book Review: “Work, Sex, Money”

June 5, 2011

“Work, Sex, Money: Real Life On The Path Of Mindfulness”
Written by Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche
Published by Shambhala Publications

Why it has taken me so long to read Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche I have no idea. I do know that I will be picking up a few more of his books, soon, as his words are as transparent as you can get.

In “Work, Sex, Money”, Chogyam cuts through the ritual and prose of many books on the subjects. His explanations, and advice, are tactics we can all easily adapt to our lives. Each subject is broken down simply, and our attachments to them are clearly defined.

He challenges us to combat our own egos, checking our intention when it comes to compassionate action. He says, ” The popular, confused notion of compassion suggests a certain idea of charity, which is trying to be kind because you feel you are well off and therefore you should be kind to others who are not well off.”

I thought about this line for a while, and thought I’d remembered teachers always saying that those that are wealthy, should most definitely offer more because they have more. And it is right, as is CTR. It is all about intention though. If it’s meant to pity someone, it is not compassion. If it is done clearly, and with heart, that is compassion.

One of the other points he makes in the book is a concept I have never pondered, but will truly bring this into my every day practice. He says, “In the materialistic round of life, there are endless advertisements for things to buy, and endless things are produced, but nobody explains how to clear everything away— how to dispose of the garbage.”

Why have I never thought about that? Seriously, does any of us think that when we are buying the latest flat-screen, that new MacBook or anything else we “need” to have? My mind has been blown away here by this concept, and I know from now on, or at least I hope, that I will reflect on something a little more before putting it into this shopping basket we call life.

His words on sex and relationships are also just as important. Having been a monastic, and then becoming a householder, his advice is palatable.

All in all, “Work, Sex, Money” is timeless. I believe his, Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche, words are far more important to those of us with families than those that have never had such an experience. It’s hard to digest advice from a monastic who has never known what it’s like to love a woman/ man or a child in a manner that us householders have. I’m not saying they do not understand love, but this love I speak of is different, and I’d much rather take advice from someone who can identify with that love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pooja permalink
    June 6, 2011 5:05 am

    I am currently reading this book :)

  2. June 5, 2011 2:10 pm

    I really want to read this book and now I definitely will! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

