Skip to content

My Brief Perspective on Osama Bin Laden’s Death

May 2, 2011

I’m a little late blogging about this, that’s what happens when your the cable guy and are on-call. 11 1/2 hours later, here are some minor thoughts…

I’ve seen the following quote floating around today, and I think it truly sums up how I feel about the current news events.

‎”I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” ~ Martin Luther King, Jr. Ed. Note: I understand this quote is not entirely MLK’s, at this point. But it’ll remain because the context of the words are fantastic for these circumstances.

From here, I had a whole post typed up, nearly 700 words. I have read it, re-read it and decided to let it go. It was filled with unnecessary fluff, inflated chest bumping and other bits of American machismo.

The thoughts I had pale in comparison to the brilliance of MLK. So, I will let his words speak for me, and leave it at that…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 9:03 pm

    In terms of karma, the life of this one individual generated a great quantity of negative karma, and who is to say that his death does not decrease that? I do not rejoice or celebrate at news of his death, but I cannot mourn his passing either.

Trackbacks

  1. Relief and Pride nothing more nothing less. « Sassy Steph B's Blog

Leave a Reply

