Skip to content

Footprints: Revisited

April 14, 2011

One night, in quiet contemplation, I visualized that I was walking along the beach. Across the twilight sky flickered memories from this life. For each memory, I noticed two pair of footprints in the sand, one belonging to me and one to you.

When the memories began to fade, I glanced back at the footprints in the sand. There was only one set of footprints. I realized I had been questioning circumstances in my life. I had been confused most of my existence and looked within for the answers.

I began to realize that in troublesome times, it was not what I wanted that was going to make my troubles ebb, but what was already there. True awakening was never something that was not, it has been dormant waiting for this moment.

As I stared back at the footprints, I comprehended their meaning. There has always only been one set of footprints. They are yours, they are mine. When I’ve stumbled, you’ve been there. When you’ve stumbled, I was there.

(Ed. Note- Ok, so it’s not the best take, but I had fun with it and hope you enjoyed reading it)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

