Skip to content

Who I am, updated my bio page

April 9, 2011

I just updated the bio for this blog and figured I’d share it.

You probably all know me by now, if you are a regular reader of course. If not, how ya doing??

My name is Nate.

I am a husband, to a wonderful and beautiful wife.

I am a father to 3 fantastic children.

I’m no Jim Carey, but I am THE cable guy.

I spend my free time blogging, welcome to my blog.

I’ve never considered myself to be a writer, and I will never claim to be a good one. What you see here is an attempt to blog about perspectives I have on a variety of subjects. Whether it be a bit of news, a book I’ve read, a story I find inspiring or just a general perception on the most random of circumstance.

You will notice one thread that holds this blog together, and that is my Dharma practice. At it’s best, it is lacking structure. Yet, at it’s worst it is at it’s best. The Dharma was never intended to take over our life, it was intended to turn it right side up, and then back again.

Just when you get comfortable… WAM!

That’s the story of my life… WAM!

I’ve felt the comfort, I’ve felt the disturbance. Getting up over and over again does not seem as redundant as it once was, it is just something to do.

I make no claim to know and understand anything about the Dharma. I’ve been studying and practicing for over 5 years now and I feel like a novice with each new breath. Over time, my skepticism has grown.

I’ve learned that, just because it is in a book, or it was heard at a Dharma talk, or on retreat— it is not always concrete. Pick it up, look at it, roll it around in your palm for a little while. If it doesn’t feel right, drop it and move on. If you are perplexed by it, maybe would like to take some more time to learn about, keep rolling.

I appreciate others insight and welcome comments. I also embrace debate. Like I said, I make no claim to understand the truth, these writings are my perspective.

I am no Buddhist scholar, Pali text and suttas are not something I study on a daily basis. I am not looking for a graduate degree. While this may make me a simpleton to some, trying to out smart you is the least of my worries. My goal is not to outsmart the next guy with my knowledge, because although it is important, without wisdom knowledge is meaningless. I make no claim to wisdom either!

My intention is to share minor insights so that it may benefit others. If I just read an awesome book, you’ll hear about it. If I just saw the best film or movie, yup it’ll be here. Maybe, just maybe I’ll read that sutta and enjoy it so much, I’ll share it. I attend a talk from time to time, I’m more than certain I will share those experiences.

So sit back and enjoy. Or, move on. It’s up to you.

May all beings be happy and free of suffering, in this world, in this moment.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 11:29 am

    These are excellent comments, Nate, and reflect my own thoughts as well. I love your blog – glad to have “met” you. All my best on your continued journey.

  2. April 11, 2011 3:55 am

    I stumbled into your blog a few weeks ago and have checked in now and then. I really like how you’re willing to share your experiences and can use that to engage people into thinking about their own practices, it’s very nice

  3. April 11, 2011 1:15 am

    Very sweet, Nate. And very wise also. You are oozing the Dharma . . .

    Metta

  4. April 10, 2011 6:12 pm

    oh, hullo. :)

  5. Jorge permalink
    April 10, 2011 6:22 am

    Very nice to meet you Nate. I have been following your blog for a couple of months and I enjoy reading your postings. I have been reading about the Dharma for a couple of years buy I have been serious about my practice for over a year. I am not interested in the dogma, from every book I read I pick up what is important and I move on. I am very interested on how people adapts Buddhism to the western world and that is one of the reasons I like to read your blog
    .
    You might not be a writer but you are honest and you are not pretending to know everything. It does not matter whether we agree with you or not, I spent a whole chunk of my life trying to be right all the time, it is not fun. What matters is that we can learn from each other and every person has something to share and teach the others.
    We do not need more scholars living in a monastery, we need down to earth people struggling with mindfulness in their lives. Thank you for sharing your path with the world.

Leave a Reply

