Skip to content

Food Review: Parma!

January 24, 2011

Up front, as most of you know, I am not a vegan. It’s something I may strive for eventually, but right now a vegetarian diet suits my lifestyle. That doesn’t mean I don’t eat, and or try, vegan products. I try to eat them as often as I can, so the transition will eventually be easier. Anyway…

When a couple samples of Parma! showed up in the mailbox I was really excited to try it out. Both the original flavor and the chipotle flavor were included, loving spicy stuff I was extremely impatient to try out the chipotle flavor.

I read the ingredients and was unsure how well they would gel but was amazed at the similarity with real parmesan cheese. To me, this tasted better, waaay better. To be perfectly honest, I hate parmesan cheese. Anytime we are having some sort of pasta dinner my kids look at me like I have three heads because I’m the only one who doesn’t really use the parmesan.

That all changes now as Parma! not only tastes great, but is comparable as far as nutritional value goes to parmesan. Nutritional yeast being one of the main ingredients, because of it’s nutty, cheesy flavor, is very important as it is full of B12.

I’ve tried Parma! on all sorts of stuff. I had it on a salad the other day, was fantastic. I sprinkled some on Dominex Eggplant Meatballs, added a great nutty flavor to go along with the eggplant’s earthy flavor.

Last night my wife made her father’s “infamous” meatballs with pasta. She made the sauce as she would normally, but before adding any meat to it, she portioned off some for me. I took some Dominex Eggplant Meatballs and cut up some Morningstar Farms Veggie Sausage Patties, into the sauce they went. Of course once this all went onto a plate it I sprinkled some Parma! on just make this meal perfecto, and it was. I did use the chipotle flavor for this meal, as the sauce has a kick to it already I figured I’d bring it up a notch.

As you can, I really loved this stuff. I think you will too. If you can’t find it in your local store, you can order Parma! from their website. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

