Skip to content

Food Review: Lightlife Smart Dogs

January 16, 2011

I’ve cooked these a couple different ways, and while one way was better than the other, I was not impressed by either.

I had to check the date on the package once I opened these up, there was an odd scent in the air. The date was good, still not sure what the smell was…

I cooked them in the microwave the first go round. Popped em in a bun, added the usual catsup, mustard and relish. First bite… the flavor and texture were quite a bit “off”. The Smart Dog was a bit chewy and the flavor tasted like it went bad. This way was not the right way to cook it, the results proved that.

This afternoon I meant to put them in some mac and cheese, but put the kids hot dogs into the mac while it was cooking. So I had to eat these on a bun again. This go round I browned em up a bit in a skillet with a little butter. The flavor this time was better, but the texture was way off again. The browning seemed to create a crust of sorts, which made it very difficult to bite through.

I know the directions say to boil them, but I could never eat boiled hot dogs, so I’ve avoided cooking them that way. Maybe the next time I try them I will boil them to give them a fair enough shot.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. peabodhi permalink
    January 18, 2011 5:58 pm

    you got to try Ives the good dog. Those are the best I’ve found. grill em. Ives used to make an amazing chili flavored dog too.

  2. January 16, 2011 9:07 pm

    Yeah, prepackaged meat analogs are often just meh. If I get to hankering for a tofu dog, though, I’ll go for a Yves. Totally much better off makin yer own fake meat, if yer hankerin’ for it, IMNSHO. ^_-

  3. January 16, 2011 4:11 pm

    no, you’re right. these are pretty much vile no matter what you do with ’em. you’re better off with veggie sausage-like things. no one’s got the tofu dog right yet.

Leave a Reply

