Skip to content

Forgiveness and Michael Vick

January 5, 2011

I’m sure this may rub some folks the wrong way, being a fan of football, and a fan of forgiveness, I felt the need to write it. Especially after seeing Tucker Carlson, a well known Faux News contributor, make some very ignorant comments re: Michael Vick. Of course he’s back tracked on his comments, but I felt the need to write this anyway.

We all know and remember the insidious things Michael Vick was accused and convicted of doing. I totally agree with anyone who believes his egregious acts were sickening to say the least.

β€œIt is natural for the immature to harm others. Getting angry with them is like resenting a fire for burning.” β€” Shantideva

I also believe a person can learn from their mistakes. Before you get into a huff that somehow Michael Vick is different, and that he will always be a dog killer, I want you to think of what you would have done with all the other folks who’ve killed people and you’ve forgiven.

There are all sorts of groups that comfort and support who are incarcerated for such crimes, such as the Prison Dharma Network, Liberation Prison Project and The National Buddhist Prison Sangha. We have no issues sending them pen pal letters, collecting books for them to read, etc. Would you not do the same for Michael Vick?

“He who is devoid of the power to forgive
is devoid of the power to love.”
~ Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

He served nearly 20 months in Fort Leavenworth, one of the most well known and harshest prisons on US soil. He lost all sports endorsements that he had and went into such a hole financially that he filed for bankruptcy.

I understand he brought it upon himself, but really, do we need to stay on his back all the time with our pitchforks and torches? The guy is human, like you, like me. We all make mistakes, some larger than others obviously.

The fact of the matter is, it’s time to forgive and move on. In my heart and mind I have forgiven Michael Vick, I think it’s time you do to!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jorge permalink
    January 6, 2011 3:15 pm

    Great post Nate. I am a football fan myself and I just cannot understand why some people even needs to “forgive” Michel Vick. He paid his dues, he learned his lesson, time to move on.
    I do not have any right to judge him since I am also human and we all make mistakes. Jealousy and envy can be powerful emotions masked as righteousness.
    Are we so delusional that we believe we have to “forgive” someone who did not affect us directly?
    Who do we think we are? If we do not have compassion for others, I am sure we also do not have it for ourselves.
    You have a great blog, I wish you and your family a very happy new year

  2. zenfant permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:02 am

    i’m not a football fan and i have no connection to Vick, but I totally love this post as it’s spot on dirty dharma. it’s also a good reminder to me of another situation in my life where I need to apply Dharma, not drama. After practicing for a while, I’m starting to get in touch more with applying the Dharma even when it’s not convenient…that is a real and present lesson for me right now and the next big process for me.
    thanks for the post.

  3. January 5, 2011 10:00 am

    Great words Nate! I am active in dog rescue and was appalled to say the least at Mike Vick’s actions, but as Alexander Pope so aptly put it ” To err is human, to forgive divine”. I have forgiven him and truly hope he can put all that behind him. That being said Matt Ryan is still the best thing to happen to the Falcons EVER including Mike Vick. GO DIRTY BIRDS!!!

Leave a Reply

