Skip to content

Food Review: Lightlife Smart Bacon

January 3, 2011

One of the things I miss the most about not eating meat anymore is bacon. To be blunt, I f$#kin’ loved to eat bacon. I know it’s gross but I could eat nearly a whole package. I put it on everything too, from burgers to salads and everything in between. I even ate it in sandwich form with bread, mayo and bacon. No BLT’s here, just bacon!

So I was really looking forward to finding an alternative. Lightlife has been very consistent so I was excited to try Lightlife Smart Bacon. I tried it in a variety of ways and have to say, some of the experiences were better than others.

Alone, I’m not 100% digging it. I cooked it two ways, in the microwave and in a pan. The pan way was definitely better, but both ways reminded me of jerky. The pan way was a little less jerky-like as it had more of a crunch. The crunch though was not the same, bacon has a crispness to it, crunchiness is way different and was a bit unpleasant.

I added a few strips to a sandwich, a BLT. When put together with other ingredients, the Smart Bacon was very enjoyable. I cooked it in the microwave for the sandwich, and it had a bit more chewiness to it which worked great for the sandwich.

I also crumbled up some strips from the pan and added it to a salad. It was great and works fantastically as a bacon crumble.

I would definitely buy and eat this again, but will be keeping my eye out for other bacon-like products to see if one is a little closer to the real thing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. peabodhi permalink
    January 18, 2011 6:04 pm

    frontier spices makes great fake bacon bits, easliy made into a sandwich or stuck to a veg burger with some vegenaise. YUM. Comes in a jar, or some stores have it in bulk spices.

  2. m0ok permalink
    January 4, 2011 5:43 pm

    Haven’t found a great bacon substitute yet, but have you tried the Quorn stuff? It’s not terrible.

  3. Al Billings permalink
    January 3, 2011 9:28 pm

    I’m a horrible person but… I had bacon this morning (and yesterday!) and it was delicious. :-)

Leave a Reply

