Skip to content

Food Review: Dominex Eggplant Parm Bites

January 3, 2011

Growing up I absolutely hated eggplant. I don’t know why, but it was always to “earthy” to me. Making the switch to vegetarianism I know I have to retry things from time to time. One of the first thing I did was to try eggplant again, and that was via a local Greek pizza place. It was good. As a matter of fact the pizza was fantastic and opened up a new door in food options for me. I couldn’t understand why I didn’t like it when I was younger besides the fact our tastes change as we age, or so I’ve been told. Or maybe I never had it prepared properly.

It took me a few stores to find this stuff, but I eventually did at Cape Cod Natural Foods. Reviews are coming for the eggplant burgers and meatballs that Dominex makes, the first product I tried though was the Dominex Eggplant Parm Bites.

I cooked them the way that recommend, baking not microwaving. I let them cook a minute or two extra, I prefer my breaded foods to have a bit more of a crunch. Once they were crispy enough I took em out, let em cool for a minute and dug in.

The crunch was great, what I expected. What I didn’t expect was how much I would like these. The eggplant was not overpowering, it added a nice “earthiness” to the great parmesan bite. The tomato sauce inside was tasty, and the parmesan was nice and gooey.

I have a hard time with bigger chunks of eggplant sometimes, the pizza I mentioned before sometimes has thick pieces, but these bites were chopped nice and fine. The eggplant flavor was still there, but I wasn’t surprised by some excessive chunkiness.

Overall, the flavor was great and I now have something else to add to my veg diet repertoire.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

