Skip to content

Food Review: Gardein Beefless Tips

December 13, 2010

Again, not letdown from Gardein!

I’ve tried alternative beef products before, and was repulsed at the flavor, texture and overall appearance. Gardein’s Beefless Tips are the closest thing to real beef you are going to get.

Like I mentioned on the main page for these reviews, I am a former meat eater looking for alternatives to fill the void left by no longer eating meat. I’m not looking to live my life as a rabbit, but I choose not to eat them either.

Anyway, I’m going to fill you in on how I prepared these so you can enjoy them as much as I did. The finished product was like a Wild Rice Stew w/ veggies and Gardein Beefless Tips.

I heated up a frying pan with some oil and dropped these guys right in. After pan frying them, browning them up on all sides, I took the tips out and placed them on some paper towels to drain some of the oil. I decided the easiest way to make a stock would be with all the stuff leftover in the pan, a sort of gravy stock if you will. It didn’t turn out as thick as it sounds though.

First off I added a bit of butter and some gravy master for color (I checked the label, it said no meat so it’s all good). I whisked it around a bit, making sure to scrape off all the bits, and once it was good enough I started adding flour to thicken stuff up. When I got the consistency I was looking for I added some water to start loosening it all up.

I added about 1/2 tsp of red chili flakes, a touch of rosemary, about a tbsp each of dried onion and dried garlic, and because I like extra spicy-ness, I added a mix I have of hot spices to kick it up. Once this was all mixed I put it in a pot. (Note: I did not add salt and pepper, I like to leave that to folks to do themselves, my tastes are not always the same as theirs so this was the best way, feel free to add some though, I recommend about a tsp of each than add more when you have a bowl in front of you)

Here’s where the veggies come in, and they went right into the pot. I added about 1/2 cup of frozen corn, 1/2 to 1 cup of greens beans and a cup of vegetable medley (which included broccoli, carrots and cauliflower).

I mentioned wild rice right? Depending on how dense and hearty you want this you might want to adjust, I was looking for something substantial. I added 1 cup of wild rice to the pot. The main ingredients were all cooked off now, and the veggies with the rice were simmering in the pot. I left that for about 2 hours on a slow, slow simmer. About 30 minutes before I planned to take it off I added the Gardein Beefless Tips which were ready and waiting to join the party.

Can I tell you how much I loved this? I can? Well I did and so did my kids. They were all shocked that this was not real beef and exclaimed how much they enjoyed it. The texture and flavor of the beefless tips so closely mimicked the real thing, had I not told them they wouldn’t have known!

It being the cold season, I was looking to come up with something just like this, but wondered what I would do without beef, Gardein has answered and DELIVERED big time! The best thing about all of this, there are plenty of leftovers! woot!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 2, 2011 12:51 pm

    Thanks for the review on the beefless tips! I sampled them at the grocery store this past weekend, and I fell in love. This makes me even more excited to get creative with them!

    Blair

  2. December 14, 2010 9:50 pm

    Gardein is pretty much where it’s at when it comes to meat replacements from the freezer.

    However, you should check out field roast sausages and celebration loaf. I also adore tofurky’s hotdogs. The best vegggie dog hands down. Tofurky also does a beer braut but I didn’t like meat brauts and these taste and feel exactly the same to me.

    For burgers I stick to uber cheap boca meatless browned on a contact grill with a touch of liquid smoke and smoked paprika they are amazing.

    Honestly prepared right with the right cooking and seasoning cheap as u can get it Asian market tofu is the way to go. We get as cheap as $1 a pound and it grills fries, sautees, or steams with the best of them.

    Just me two cents and cause I’m dreaming of eating again some day. Right now I’m on actual iv nutrition for the first day. It’s like they gave up on my body. Just waiting around for the system to reboot.

  3. December 16, 2010 6:44 am

    Thank for the comment and all the advice Andy!!

    The only stuff you mentioned that I haven’t tried is the Field Roast and that’s cause noone nearby sells it.

    I hope you are able to keep some sort of sustenance down soon man, we are all thinking of you and pulling for you!!

Leave a Reply

