Skip to content

Food Review: Gardein Santa Fe Good Stuff

December 9, 2010

I have yet to be let down by Gardein’s products. More reviews are coming soon for those, but I wanted to do this first as I cannot rant and rave enough about this particular product.

Gardein’s Santa Fe Good Stuff cannot be closer, in title, to the review I’m going to give it. There are multiple options to cooking these, I went with the boil method.

After pulling it out of the water I open both the pouches, one containing a fantastic spicy sauce to pour over the “chicken breast”. I cut into it and lo and behold, there’s a little gift inside of black beans, onions and corn. It was an early Xmas gift of savory flavor.

I am a big fan of anything with a kick, spice wise, and the Santa Fe Good Stuff did not let me down in the least. I was actually shocked out the kick and was smiling throughout the meal.

The “breast” itself was very similar in texture and taste to what chicken is, and I’m still astounded as far as how this process works. I may have over boiled it as it was a tad chewy, actually I am pretty sure that is what happened. The instructions call for only 5-6 minutes in the boiling water, but I got sidetracked and left it in for a little over 10 minutes.

I am loving anything Gardein puts out and have some more products in the fridge/ freezer to try out. Can’t wait!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

