Skip to content

Food Review: Quorn Turk’y Roast

November 25, 2010

This is the first of hopefully many more veggie / vegan product reviews. If you are reading this and want to see your companies products reviewed, please, get in touch.

This is my first Thanksgiving as a vegetarian, and to be honest, I am still quite attached to turkey and was worried about finding an alternative that could “stack up” in taste and texture. But, I made the commitment to myself to not eat meat products any more so off to the store I went.

I was looking for a particular brand, but was unable to find it. After scouring the store I found Quorn’s Turk’y Roast so that was going to be my “turkey” for the holiday.

After opening the box I was a bit put off by the “loaf of turkey”, which was squishy and cold. So, I cooked the roast per the instructions on the box, figured they knew what they were doing since I did not. My skepticism of the product was diminished once I carved the loaf up.

After about 40 minutes of baking, I pulled it out since it had reached it’s peak color of golden brown, again per the box. I unwrapped the plastic casing and started slicing it up. Wow! I was amazed at the look, touch and feel— it was turkey!

I heaped on my plate all the usual Thanksgiving morsels and added my Turk’y Roast to the plate. Instead of the gravy everyone else was having, I used a bit of the sauce left from the baked carrots as my gravy and off to my seat at the table I went.

I cut up a bit of the loaf and popped in my gullet…. wait for it… Amazed at the taste and texture, an enormous smile, and sense of relief overwhelmed me. It was not to dry, not to moist, it was perfect. I am quite particular about textures too! I still need to figure out how to cook tofu and it always bothers me when sitting down to eat it, but I “eat it and like it” as my parents would always tell me about my dinner.

I’m getting a bit off track here. The fact of the matter is, the Quorn Turk’y Roast was exactly what I needed to have this first time around, as it made me a firm believer in meat substitutes. Not only was the texture spot on, but the flavor was so close even my wife, who nearly gags when I ask her to try one of my meals consisting of fake meat, thought it was great (so did my daughter).

I thought I would feel left out this holiday season, but not anymore. Next time I hope to follow the instructions on roasting this in a bag with other foods to bring a different flavor to it.

If you are looking for something as a turk’y alternative and haven’t found one yet that you like, I highly recommend Quorn’s Turk’y Roast!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2010 11:27 pm

    I haven’t tried this but I love me some tofurkey. The new ones are bigger and have a more meaty texture and the mushroom giblet gravy that comes in “vegetarian feast” is great!! I’m also a big fan of anything made by field roast and they make 2 different thanksgiving loaves. One in a pastry shell with hazelnut cranberry filling…mmmm…

    There’s also one out there is actually turkey shaped which, to me, gross. I can’t remember the brand name.

  2. November 27, 2010 8:02 pm

    I have a few hangups with Quorn, which I tried at my sister’s house (she is a vegetarian) one recent Thanksgiving. Is this substance something that is found in nature and is meant for human consumption? I find myself asking that of the other substitute meat products, some of which I do consume, but I feel they all have an asterisk (*) attached to them — this ain’t your grandparents’ food! The Center for Science in the Public Interest has a concern with Quorn causing serious allergic reactions in rare cases. I’m not sure I will indulge in it again.

  3. November 27, 2010 6:32 pm

    Adam, would love the gravy recipe plz!

  4. November 27, 2010 1:11 am

    Glad to hear you had a good veggie Thanksgiving. Tofu is hard to cook. I almost always recommend using extra firm tofu to begin with, the soft consistency of the others are hard to deal with unless it’s in soup. Use a lot of seasoning when cooking with tofu, it’ll take up their flavors and make it easier to deal with. Definitely an acquired taste.

  5. November 26, 2010 12:51 pm

    http://www.phamfatale.com/id_837/title_Vegetarian-Gravy-for-Thanksgiving/

    Thanks for the info. Check out the gravy above.

  6. November 26, 2010 10:58 am

    Glad you liked it. I was pretty impressed too, I thought it was much better than Tofurkey. Also, I have a couple of vegetarian gravy recipes that are super easy to make (5 minutes) if you want them.

Leave a Reply

