Skip to content

One trap at a time!

October 7, 2010

The other day, I stopped by a local store to use the restroom. I know, TMI, but that’s not the story here.

Under the sink was a trap, right out in the open. Not sure if this is over board or not, but I took the trap and dropped it in the trash.

I refuse to use traps in my house. They are cruel as they inflict instant suffering, and sometimes death. Even the one’s that have a glue on the bottom, that are supposed to be humane traps are not.

I saw one of those kinds of traps recently, in a store, and inside was a cricket who could not break loose. Crickets, mice or any other creature that gets caught up in that gunk struggles, suffers and eventually gives up and dies.

So, just curious here, was dumping the trap in the garbage over board? I mean, someone else paid for it, and I tossed it. But at the same time, maybe an animal of some sort suffered less because of it.

What do you think?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Randi permalink
    October 28, 2010 3:26 pm

    I’m not really in the middle about it but I can’t really choose a side on your actions. I agree that traps that cause any death at all are inhumane and should not be allowed, it is simply animal abuse. I see the point that was made about potentially causing suffering of the shop owner but it is not suffering of the body, it would simply put a VERY small dent in his pocket book. Although, you did inflict some sort of hurt on the unknown business owner, you did prevent the potential death and pain of a creature that would have been stuck in that trap. The only problem I have, though, is that the owner will more than likely either take it out of the trash or replace the trap with another one. In the long run I’m not sure that anyone will have received the message and the cycle of placing traps in that same location will continue; this only stems from my problems with silent protest, however. Regardless, I think it was a good thing you did.

    Oh, by the way, if you release a: mouse, rat, what have you, into the wild after catching them in a humane trap they will more than likely survive in their new habitat as long as it is normally sufficient for sustaining the life or an animal (not a desert, space vacuum, arid tundra or body of water). Rodents are especially well adapted for living in changing, hostile environments, so as long as they were not hurt they will do just fine in another location.

  2. ajollynerd permalink
    October 21, 2010 10:39 am

    I understand where you’re coming from with this, but you have to try to see it from all angles. Perhaps by throwing the trap away, you’re inflicting suffering on the business owner (who may lose their livelihood if they fail a health inspection). Our actions aren’t simple one-offs. There are ripples that fan out from *everything* we choose to do (yes, from everything we don’t choose to do, as well, but we have no control over that). Yes, your choice to dispose of the trap likely had beneficial effects for any creature that might have gotten caught in it, but it also may have had detrimental effects for others.

    I don’t decry your action, but I don’t applaud it either. It is what it is. What else is there to say?

  3. October 21, 2010 11:14 am

    you know, you bring up some valid issues. I was conflicted before I made the decision to toss the trap. I did take under consideration the fact the store was trying to control some sort of pest issue, but then made the decision pretty quickly afterward that I was going to just toss it. I appreciate the comment and, as always, will try weigh both options before making a hasty decision.

  4. Sarah permalink
    October 18, 2010 10:44 pm

    You are a nice guy. These glue baits are cheap, but a long slow death of panic & starvation for a sentient being. If it’s a restaurant & you have to kill, then pay more to get proper pest control in so the death of the insects can be swift. Mouse traps are shocking & I don’t care who thinks I am weird for my attitude about this.

  5. October 8, 2010 11:43 am

    I was in a slightly … goofy mood yesterday, had a birthday and I didn’t give this enough weight. I apologize.

    What I meant with the bug zapper – it’s expensive. A carboard/paper trap isn’t. One isn’t a tremendous loss, the other is. That was all I meant.

    Ran a cafe with my other half for a while and I hear what y’all are saying. It is hard to get rid of them once you have them. Deterrents are best (plenty of natural ones out there), but quick death solutions are probably going to be needed in a commercial space. I just think they should be dealt with with due consideration.

    Those glue traps I can’t abide by, on a personal level, and I live in waterbug central.

    Here at home we pretty much stick to catch and release. We live in a forested area and in the midst of many critters’ home turf. My home is just a … topographical feature here.

  6. October 7, 2010 4:52 pm

    To unwittingly quote Paul McCartney, I use to say live and let live. (And for the most part I still do) I too have to follow my heart when it comes to pests and say live and let die, unless they’re in my home and then they’re trespassing. Under Texas law, I’m allowed to kill them then.

    I agree with the cruelty of some types of traps for mammals and such and prefer bait, but insects (roaches, ants and the like) have no business in our homes. If you don’t have the guts to smash a rats head in with a hammer, don’t use glue traps. Spiders (NOT an insect!) and beetles get a break, but for the others, killing them is helping evolution to create a more efficient creature. One that serves its purpose, but stays out of our homes.

    As a food service professional, I do have to say pests can spread disease and are incredibly hard to get rid of once they’re in, so please, next time leave it?

    (in most places, restaurants are required to have regulated bug zappers in the kitchen. they’re quick and efficient, what’s wrong with that? the alternative is fly tape/paper. poisons and traps are “slow” and/or “painful)

  7. October 7, 2010 11:29 am

    I’m getting to be old enough (tee-hee) that I follow my heart on stuff like this. I probably would have, too. Perhaps this action will lead to useful thoughts on the part of the owner. Also, it’s not like it’s a bug zapper.

  8. Chris permalink
    October 7, 2010 10:49 am

    I imagine that spring-loaded mousetraps don’t cause much suffering when they work right; they must kill the mouse pretty quickly. I don’t know for sure of course. But they definitely cause suffering when they misfire; we had a mouse get its leg trapped in one, and drag it back into the wall with him, only to get stuck somewhere in the wall where we couldn’t reach him.

    I’m definitely not happy about using mousetraps, but I’ve been told that capturing a mouse and releasing it far away from your home, it’ll die anyway because of being in unfamiliar territory. So I’m not sure what the best thing to do is. Letting mice live in stores and spread diseases to people could cause suffering too.

Leave a Reply

