Skip to content

Beer Bread w/ Italian Herbs & Cheese

September 20, 2010

Tried making my first loaf of homemade bread, and what a success it was. This is also the first time I’ve posted a recipe for something on Precious Metal, so I hope you get a chance to try it out for yourself.

3 cups self-rising flour*
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 (12-ounce) can of beer
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon dried Italian herbs or 1 teaspoon each oregano, basil and thyme
12 ounce beer

Combine all ingredients in bowl, mix well.

Add beer and again, mix well.

Preheat oven to 375°F (190°C).

Lightly grease or spray a 9 x 5 x 3-inch loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Pour into prepared loaf pan and bake for 1 hour.

Makes 1 loaf.

*If you don’t have self rising flour just use this mixture. 3 cups all purpose flour, 3 teaspoons baking powder and 1 1/2 teaspoons salt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 10:53 am

    Hmmm… I have all of these things. Might give it a try.

    So is the first beer for the bread and second (12 ounce beer) in the ingredients for while you wait for the bread to bake? heh

    I don’t bake much (too much precision needed in ingredient amounts and the oven really heats up my tiny kitchen) but my favorite bread recipe is a pumpkin date loaf.

    I haven’t put any recipes on my blog since I tend to get too wordy in the explanations but maybe it’s time to rethink it.

    I too will report back if I try this.

    Thanks!

  2. September 20, 2010 10:55 am

    would love to check out some of your recipes, you should post em, wordy or not!

    Oh, and how about the recipe for that Pumpkin/ Date Loaf? Fall season is upon us here in the Northeast US and this would be the perfect bread for this time!

  3. Sarah permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:25 am

    Thanks for sharing this. I am obsessed with finding the best bread recipe as I intend never to buy bread again. I will report back after I have baked this one.

  4. September 20, 2010 10:56 am

    This was my first of hopefully many more breads. Do you have any good recipes you’ve tried already?

Leave a Reply

