Skip to content

When was the last time that you thanked someone?

August 2, 2010

I’m not talking about a stoic “thank you” for having a door opened for you, or from the guy at the window at the drive-thru, but an honest to goodness, from the heart, thank you.

I know that I, for one, do not say it enough, and I am truly thankful for many things. My intention with this, when it’s not 11pm at night of course, is to call my mother, and thank her. I will gladly share with you all the conversation, once I do call her.

As bizarre as it sounds, I have never thanked her fol all the thing s she has done. I may have, but it was insincere at best. As I traverse the endless expanse I am so friggin thankful for the life she has given me.

I am thankful for the pain I caused her in childbirth.  

I am thankful for the food she put on the table when I was hungry.

I am thankful for the support she gave me in my schooling, even when I didn’t believe in myself.

I am thankful for the fact she stood by me when I got myself in trouble, and without shame she was always there by my side.

I am thankful for this life.

I am thankful for everything, the good, the bad, the ugly.

When was the last time that you thanked someone?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anoki Casey permalink
    August 3, 2010 2:30 pm

    Gratitude is one of the most powerful mantras I’ve ever chanted. By repeating “Thank You, Thank You, Thank You” honestly to the Universe—past and present, as a whole without me and within me—I have been able to weather some of the worst and find solutions for the most seemingly doomed. It seriously can change the pathways in yer friggin miiiind, maaaan!

    Thank you.
    Thank you.
    Thank you.

    …a

  2. Andy permalink
    August 3, 2010 12:33 pm

    Thank You, Nate!
    I needed this and I cna now honestly say that I just thanked my wife. Who says there is no iSangha?

    Namaste, Brother!

Leave a Reply

