Skip to content

Reciting The Four Immeasurables

July 16, 2010

Lately, my practice is not as strong as I would like it to be. I’ve been lacking the time and or effort to actually sit and breathe. I know, it’s easy, but it has been a bit of a battle for me lately.

So, from here on out I am going to MAKE the time, I have to make the time. Not sitting has definitely had a negative effect on my life lately. I refuse to allow that continue to work it’s way and veer me off course.

Recently I was at a teaching with Lama Tsori Rinpoche. One thing he talked about was the importance of reciting the Four Immeasurable. As part of re-dedication to practice, I vow (to myself) to make this recitation a part of it, every day. My hope is that by reciting this every morning, before even grabbing that first cup of coffee, it will set the course of the day.

I know there’s much more to it, specifically the basic fact I need to sit. So that’s part of it, a BIG part of it. Maybe I need to make a firm dedication like my bud Shane at Zenfant, he’s made a firm goal and has called it “100 Days Of Sitting on my Ass”. It’s been interesting following his progress each day, and although I’ve cited him here, I don’t think I’ll be posting every day as he has about it. Maybe I’ll touch base once a week.

So, I’m going to run mine for a 60 day period. Once per week I will check in, not only to say how it’s going, but to log it for myself as a tool to look back on. Hopefully it works out and I can kick start this thing again. So until the end of the first week, I leave you with the Four Immeasurables…

May all sentient beings have happiness and its causes,
May all sentient beings be free of suffering and its causes,
May all sentient beings never be separated from bliss without suffering,
May all sentient beings be in equanimity, free of bias, attachment and anger.

May any merit attained by this re-dedication of practice be for the benefit of all sentient beings, everywhere!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda-Sama permalink
    July 16, 2010 11:42 am

    nice! I end every yoga class with them, then say om mani padme hum, then shanti shanti shantih…..I don’t say namaste at the end of my classes….

  2. zenfant permalink
    July 16, 2010 8:45 am

    naw i don’t really post every day. i just number them when i do post ’em up. if i posted every day you’d be sick of me and i’d be sick of myself. at some point if i posted every day i’d become like the various talk show hosts who have to start making crap up just to keep talking.

Leave a Reply

