Skip to content

Insignificant, Am I

June 11, 2010

Lately, while driving around in my work van, I’ve been listening to one of my favorite bands, Nevermore. Nevermore is of course, a metal band, but not necessarily death metal. They’d be considered more of a progressive/ melodic sounding style of metal. Anyway… I REALLY love their music.

Until recently, I didn’t realize how meaningful some of the bands lyrics could be. I was listening to the song “Insignificant, Am I” and it made me think how truly insignificant life can be at times, although it doesn’t necessarily have to be.

A snippet of the lyrics go something like this (full song lyrics posted after the video below)… “And then one day you’ll realize, Just a speck in the spectrum, Insignificant, am I?”

Reading it, it sounds bleak, as if our lives don’t matter. But when you break it down a bit, the key is the word spectrum. I think this, in a sense, is a reference to the interdependence of us all. Yes we are all individual specks, but we make up a whole spectrum together. Whether we want to admit it or not, our individual, “insignificant” actions impact the “spectrum”.

From the oil spill, to natural disasters, to repression by hostile governments, we are all affected. Our actions, as insignificant as we think they are, can start off small but greatly multiply. Or, as seen by the oil spill, start off big and get HUGE really quick like.

Like the idea that a butterfly flapping it’s wings can cause a tornado on the other side of the planet, so can the minor things we do affect others. Who’s to say that our action of killing something small, maybe an ant, may set off a chain of events that kills a village in Africa? Maybe that’s not the best analogy, but you get what I’m saying.

This is why I love listening to music, it’s the moments of realization. Something as simple as the lyrical content of a song to awaken oneself. So, I say thanks to the guys in Nevermore for this moment of clarity.

“Insignificant, Am I”
by Nevermore

Ours is not to question the reasons why
Crippled indecision repeats the path I once denied
Insignificant, am I ?
The color of sundown,of crimson sky
The beauty that breaks down
And gives the day unto the night

And then one day you’ll realize
Just a speck in the spectrum
Insignificant,am I ?
And then one day you’ll realize
The beauty that breaks down
never knows the reason why

scan my horizon as blue turns to black
the sky is gone again
and all beneath are born to die
insignificant,am I ?

And then one day you’ll realize
Just a speck in the spectrum
Insignificant,am I ?
And then one day you’ll realize
The beauty that breaks down
never knows the reason why

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 8:34 pm

    What album is this song on? I only own This Godless Endeavor…

    I definitely need to start paying more attention to lyrics. Being a guitarist, vocals and lyrics have never really been important to me, but that needs to change, and with as much DM I listen to, I’ll need to actually read them. haha

    Makes sense about the spectrum…we’re all connected, cause and effect in the universe.

Leave a Reply

