Skip to content

Shadows Fall: Thoughts Without Words

March 29, 2010

I’m more of a cookie monster vocals type of death metal but I’ve have liked Shadows Fall since hearing them years back at the Palladium when they were opening up for much larger bands. They have bands opening for them now though. Anyway, I’ve been listening to a bit more of them mainly because people have mentioned how they have a “Buddhist” inspired lyrics.

So I went out checked out some stuff, and although I haven’t found a song that specifically mentions Buddhism, I did find this one particularly interesting. The song is titled “Thoughts Without Words”, I’ve posted the video and lyrics below.

To me the song seems to be about meditation… what do you think?

Having awareness but no true sense of self
You find yourself enslaved in chains of earthly wealth
The unending chatter that plagues the mind
Confusion will be all that you find

Chaos reigns in an untamed mind

Still question all i know advancing foward
This fallacy i have disowned

You must quench the yearning and false desire

Only balance will elevate you higher

You must train the body and the mind to serve
Envisioning thoughts without words
Chaos reigns in an untamed mind

Still question all i know advancing foward
This fallacy i have disowned

Encaged in a world that fear creates
You must release yourself and liberate

I am seeking the way…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ted Lim permalink
    June 20, 2010 12:49 pm

    In their 2004 album “The War Within” there was only one song that i could find that DIDN’T have lyrics that make clear reference to Buddhist concepts. That would be “Ghosts of Past Failures”. As for the rest, I’m not talking about “could be interpreted as being Buddhist”, but obvious references to Buddhism. Not necessarily exclusively Buddhist, but definitely Buddhist. From the topics touched on, i would guess the guys have been checking out Vajrayana Buddhism as a source of inspiration. Don’t have time right now, unfortunately, but I can explain the examples in few of there songs from this album later.

  2. June 20, 2010 2:02 pm

    Wow, great to hear. Sent you an e-mail, would love to hear your breakdown on the album…

  3. Kevin permalink
    May 15, 2010 6:24 pm

    They have another obviously Buddhist inspired song called “The First Noble Truth”.

    As reality washes away the faded memories of daylight
    This is my escape
    Realization of my mind’s own deceit
    Perception Slips away
    Lulled into a fools paradise
    Words mislead again
    the agony of imaginary sins and fears
    truth of suffering
    Buried dreams that shadow me, I feel it’s all been wasted (Dreams that shatter me)
    Break my dreams to free my soul because I won’t even notice (Dreams to free my soul)
    Disintegration of the ego with this mind creates
    False idea of self
    The cessation of continuity and becoming
    True enlightenment
    Buried dreams that shadow me, I feel it’s all been wasted (Dreams that shatter me)
    Break my dreams to free my soul because I won’t even notice (Dreams to free my soul)
    Someone free me from heaven torn asunder
    full of empty promises to be there if I wonder (Alone and wandering)
    Will not remain enslaved
    This world’s transparency
    I see right through
    I walk alone
    As reality washes away the faded memories of daylight
    This is my escape
    Realization of my mind’s own deceit
    Perception Slips away
    Buried dreams that shadow me, I feel it’s all been wasted (Dreams that shatter me)
    Break my dreams to free my soul because I won’t even notice (Dreams to free my soul)
    Someone free me from heaven torn asunder
    full of empty promises to be there if I wonder (Alone and wandering)
    Extinction of thirst
    Extinction of desire
    Extinction of hatred
    Extinction of illusion
    This is absolute.

  4. Les Veto permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:53 pm

    Nice pick up there mate. Reading the lyrics would definately indicate to me that it is about meditation. Love the song too, but no chance of meditating after listening to it, got me too amped!

  5. March 29, 2010 5:58 pm

    Yeah… I moved out in 2001 so I hit maybe the first 3…. but like you I’ve seen many shows there… mostly upstairs though because they were too small for the downstairs…. sounds like you’re more into bands like Cryptopsy and Death?

  6. March 29, 2010 6:01 pm

    yeah, more like those bands. I grew up listening to early Carcass, Entombed, Dismember, Death, etc… The band I was in for a while recorded a version of The Philosopher for a Death tribute album. Loved that song…

  7. March 29, 2010 5:48 pm

    Nice… did you grow up in Worcester Nate? I grew up in Lowell and have been to many a N.E Metal Fest at the Palladium. I remember seeing Shadows Fall before Brian Fair joined them from Overcast.

    I still like Overcast better!

    Bows,

    Shindo

  8. March 29, 2010 5:54 pm

    Nah, I grew up here on the Cape. Been going to shows in Worcester though since I was a kid. Have been to many shows and then when they started the Metal and Hardcore Fests I went to the first few of them, they seemed to be to commercialized after a while though.

Leave a Reply

