Skip to content

Happy Bodhi Day 2009

December 8, 2009

This is the first year I’ve truly celebrated Bodhi Day. In the past I’ve meditated some extra time and made sure to use a bit more mindfulness for the day, but I wanted to step it up this year and have some fun with my kids. So my son Alex and I decorated this here tree. (yes it’s not a “true” Bodhi Tree but it does the trick right?)

I had him trace and cut out a star for the top, we put three bulbs on it (Buddha, Dharma, Sangha), put the multi-color lights and strung some “interconnected” beads. It a simple task but fun and I was able to ask any questions he had, and he had plenty of them. Why did Buddha sit under the tree (note in the photo I have a little Buddha bust, under the tree), what do you mean he was enlightened, what does Bodhi Day mean, etc… Those are some of the questions he asked and I tried as best to simplify, he’s only 6.

All in all, it was fun and we are ready for Bodhi Day. He even wants to try meditating with me again. I had tried to get him into it (meditating) before but didn’t push it and he stopped asking. He is starting to ask again though so we’ll see how this round goes.

Anyway I hope you all have a great day and please enjoy each other this holiday season!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 12:02 pm

    Happy Bodhi Day to you too, Nate… a little late but the sentiments are still fresh. I have a long strand of mala beads I throw up in the Norfolk pine.

    Thanks for being here.

  2. December 8, 2009 8:42 pm

    Awesome Adam!

  3. December 8, 2009 1:14 pm

    Very cool, I’ll also be adding one of my Buddha statues underneath my Yule tree.

  4. December 8, 2009 10:26 am

    Fantastic zenzookeeper! Glad I could help :)

    Oh, and great blog by the way, love the premise behind it!

  5. December 8, 2009 10:00 am

    You have inspired me to put a shakyamuni statue under my traditional yule tree.
    And don’t worry, all trees are bodhi trees, even evergreen ones! :)

  6. December 8, 2009 9:07 am

    Thanks Shane!

  7. zenfant permalink
    December 8, 2009 8:44 am

    that is so awesome that you are make a space for Alex in practice that is exactly Alex-sized for whenever he wants to participate.

    I like the tree too!

Trackbacks

  1. zen and the art of telling a man… « 108zenbooks

Leave a Reply

