Skip to content

My vacation and the creation of simplicity

November 26, 2009

I had these grandiose plans for my three weeks off from the county. The problem is, I had to many plans. SO I fell into a week of procrastination. I had plans to work out quit smoking. But those plans were derailed when I talked myself into doing Thanksgiving.

I have this problem, it seems I try to grasp a thousand straws and slowly the fall through my fingers. I could grab just a few, but I try to do it all and end up getting little done. I over analyze things and then make them bigger than they need to be. SO I have read a few articles By Leo Babauta. He has some books for download and also one I checked out from the library. He mentions to pick one thing to do each month and then work on that one thing. Once that has been accomplished, move onto the next. I procrastinated going to the local Buddhist Temple and now they are closed for renovation for 5 months. SO I looked to my next project. Doing a little work around the house. Going home I was a little disappointed that the temple had closed, yet I had procrastinated again. I found a guy that was selling fruit trees from his house. We spoke briefly and he said he was leaving the country for a mission trip and might not be back. Remembering what happened with the temple, I made a date to come to his house on Monday and pick up a few trees for my backyard.

Monday was hectic, but I knew I had those plans. So after a few trips to run errands I made two visits to his house and got 3 papaya trees and also another two fruit trees. Cost 12 dollars. I gave him 15 and told him to be careful on his trip.

I spent a few minutes this morning writing this blog on Google documents. And now I have some trees to plant and a car to wash. Have a great Turkey day. I am going to quit smoking December first. I am putting it out there so I can have someone call me on it.     – Todd

Side note. I thought the food trees would help bring fresh fruit into my house. And help with a better diet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tmshaffer permalink
    November 27, 2009 9:51 am

    I am going by a book I read it said to set a date. I have done this numerous times and failed to execute. I always have excuses stress and such. Hurricane season or what not. Perfection is something I will never achieve just trying to be a little better than I was the day before. But now being forty I can see the writing on the wall. When I decided to take all this time off. I had so many things I wanted to do. I got lost in the mass of my attempts. But I am going to take each bad habit head on one at a time.

  2. zenfant permalink
    November 26, 2009 9:38 pm

    i feel ya. i seem to have great aspirations to simplicity…sounds so funny writing it. but when I make a big deal about it, it always goes awry. so i try to be simple about being simple and taking what organically seems to be in front of me and going with it until it’s either absorbed into my way of being or I find that it wasn’t something that really worked for me anyway, at least not in the long run.

    can i start asking you about not smoking early? like now? just to get your prepped and ready, ya know. i support you totally in letting that habit go to the universe.

Leave a Reply

