Skip to content

Shedding Skin

July 1, 2009

nullI have a few snakes and they shed their skin occasionally as they grow. I always wished I could shed my skin have a fresh start as it were. Remove all the parasites the scars, the blemishes. Where snakes have that luxury, we as a whole do not. But, no matter how many times they shed they are still snakes. They can’t change the internal by shedding off their external epidermis.

Recently I have been having issues at work and my family has needed more than usual. I was used to being a loner of sorts. We would all get together and have dinner or drinks. But we kind of all proceeded in a steady fashion.

Small hiccups were the norm, but nothing to derail the process. Well all good things must come to an end and my older brother needed me. He had been having trouble at work and needed me. This was odd, my brother has always been my rock, saving me from an ass kicking every now and than. So I stepped up and did those little errands he was to occupied for. Got him a few books and basically helped him in any way possible.

I guess its like when you see your father and he needs your help, you never expect those times will come. I have started to realize this as my father has become a little older. And I am stepping up to do more for him and my brother. They are still my rock. But now I can balance their needs and repay some of what they have given me.

My brother will be back. I wish he could shed that skin that is holding him back. But no matter what scars seem to be visible on the surface, he is still the same man inside.

Sidenot3: just finished Saltwater Buddha. Great book I highly recommend it. Unfortunately I read it in two days and now I am without a book.

One Comment leave one →
  1. M3T4L M0NK permalink
    July 1, 2009 10:12 pm

    Very interesting post. It’s true: no matter how much we change on the outside, on the inside we are all still the same.

    If you are looking for a book to read, if you haven’t read it, I’m rather hooked on “City Dharma” by Arthur Jeon. It’s about how to overcome all the worry and stuff when your living the life of a regular Joe in the city, and not a monk in some secluded little hideaway. Very good, still haven’t finished it myself.

Leave a Reply

