Skip to content

June 14th, Under “House Arrest” for Aung San Suu Kyi

June 3, 2008

You may or may not know, but the US Campaign for Burma is calling people to action on June 14th-15th. The idea is to help raise awareness for Aung San Suu Kyi and the fact she has been under house arrest, illegally, for the past 12 years.

From US CAMPAIGN FOR BURMA – Usually we ask people to “arrest themselves” – placing themselves under house arrest for 24 hours and during that time invite family and friends over and talk about Burma. We will provide you with supplies – video, info sheets etc. If the house party idea doesn’t work for you, then feel free to get creative. The global action days will be for June 13-14th, but you can do it whenever in the month of June.

I am going to take part in this and will be under “house arrest” on June 14th. I hope to have a 2-3 hour window where some people I’ve invited can come over, watch a video and learn about the situation in Burma, and maybe, just maybe raise some money.

I’m asking you, yes you, if you would help support me under “house arrest”. How can you do this? Well just e-mail me, tell me you are willing to help, I will e-mail back my mailing address (not going to put it online as I don’t have a po box). I will be accepting checks and money orders written out to the US Campaign for Burma and than mailing them together as one package. I am hoping with some of you helping out, and people coming out to my house that day, to raise a minimum of $300. Can you help?

Just e-mail me at natedemontigny@gmail.com

While the “house arrest” idea may seem like a minor dent, any little bit helps right? So please help!

You can also help by posting to this blog article on your blog, so please pass this along!!!

Leave a Reply

