Skip to content

Food Review: Quorn Cheese Burgers

January 17, 2011

Quorn has introduced two new meat alternative products, both of them being burgers. So far I’ve only tried the Quorn Cheese Burgers (was going to add the usual link to the product on the companies site but they don’t have this listed yet, so this goes to their main site). If I were to guess, the regular burger doesn’t taste that much different, but I will review that in another post.

Until now, I’ve loved, lived and sworn by the MorningStar Farms Grillers Prime Veggie Burgers, sorry my friends, you’ve been dethroned. Quorn’s new product are so similar to a regular burger it’s crazy. It’s not like a hand pattied beef burger, more like a frozen burger (that’s the idea right?).

The patty had a good smoky flavor, even when I pan fried it. In a bun with some catsup, mustard and relish even the most discriminating meat eater would be fooled. I didn’t notice a very cheesy flavor to the patty, again maybe that’ll change once I try the non-cheese patty.

I just want to add this bit, because I’ve been e-mailed by a few people about it. I’ve read the “controversy” about people getting sick, or better yet, having allergic reactions to some Quorn products. I even got into a disagreement with a co-worker about it. I understand how the product is made, I know all of it. I’ve read both sides of the argument.

I’d love to say this though, what are you allergic too? Are you allergic to peanuts? What do you do about it? You avoid them correct? Seems simple enough but some people don’t get it. If you are allergic to something, and have a reaction because of it, stay away from it. My son is allergic to shellfish and guess what? We don’t feed it to him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marge permalink
    April 13, 2011 2:09 pm

    Several years ago ‘Wired’ did an article about the ‘controversy’ surrounding Quorn (I’m not sure why ‘Wired’ cared, but whatever), and they noted that something like 1 in 140,000 people could suffer an allergic reaction to mycoprotein, where as 1 in 350 people has a soy allergy.

    The controversy is a bunch of crap born of smugness from people who are anti-veg and rival brands.

    I love Quorn chicken tenders. I can’t wait to try the burgers!

  2. January 17, 2011 6:51 pm

    really good to know. i love that you’re doing these food reviews. i will totally try this product.

Trackbacks

  1. If only meat wasn’t made from dead animals …. | No damn blog
  2. Food Review: Quorn Classic Burger « Precious Metal: the blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

